Angry Wild Legends

Writing, authoring, publishing, literary stuff of all kinds – plus anything else!

Vindication…

…possibly.

I set up Let’s Get Published (www.letsgetpublished.com) to hopefuly act as a portal for writers, agents, publishers, and editors to meet up in neutral territory, as it were. Getting the interest of writers proved not too difficult, thanks to Sandy Mather (http://writingtoinspireyou.com), and Nick Dawes (http://www.mywriterscircle.com/), and we now have a growing community. The hard part was always going to be convincing the publishing communities (publishers, agents, editors) to pay Let’s Get Published a visit.

So, a couple of weeks ago I released an internet press release (you can probably still see it on Google News, searching for ‘literary agents’ or similar – I think we’re now on page 2), following it up with individually hand-edited (!) emails to likely-looking addresses in the publishing community. The response was mixed, but that is what I was expecting. Some said ‘dont bother us’, others said ‘sounds interesting’. Some didn’t say anything at all, of course.

However, the important point is, that from this initial and very unsophisticated publicity, one literary agent got in touch and asked to become a member of Let’s Get Published! Our very first!

What can I say? I was over the moon! Ok, so it’s just one out of thousands, but it marks the first real positive progress in LGP’s history. The members wer delighted when I told them, and I (currently) have half-a-dozen new submissions to upload to the website. If only I didn’t have to work for a living (LGP really is just something I do in my spare time – though it’s certainly more than a hobby).

Anyway, I just wanted to let the world know the good news. Let’s Get Published is here, and we mean to stay!

May 8, 2007 Posted by | General, publish | Leave a comment